About the Library - Gavilan College Library

Mission Statement

Gavilan College Library provides a safe, respectful and welcoming environment in which the educational community and its work are supported via the delivery of traditional and emerging academic research tools and methods, and where students are encouraged to explore, discover, investigate and develop research skills for personal, professional and life-long learning.

Gavilan College Library affirms the principles and details of the the American Library Association Library Bill of Rights and Code of Ethics including a commitment to patron privacy.

Library Student Learning Outcomes:

  • Students will use information technology tools to locate, retrieve, organize, and present information.
  • Students will increase their ability to state a research question, problem or issue.
  • Students will determine information requirements for the research question, problem or issue.
  • Students will use the library’s reserve course materials to assist them in their course work.

WHILE YOU ARE IN THE LIBRARY

The Gavilan Library is committed to providing a pleasant, safe library environment and quality service. Please note the following expectations while you're in the library:

  • All library patrons are expected to behave politely and respectfully towards other patrons and toward library employees.
  • Please refrain from soliciting, selling or requesting signatures on petitions inside the library.
  • Please obtain permission from library staff before posting or distributing flyers and materials in the library.
  • Food & Drink: Please only bring beverages in closed or covered containers and snack food items to the library.
  • Brief low volume cell phone conversations are permitted, except at the computers. Please take longer conversations outside the library.

LIBRARY HOURS

2024  Spring Semester (1/29-5/24)

Gilroy
Library Hours (In Person & Online):
M-Th 9am-8pm
Fri 9am-2pm
Closed Saturday and Sunday

Holidays
Feb 16-19 - President's Day
Mar 29 - Cesar Chavez Day
April 1-7 - Spring Break

2024 Summer Semester (6/10-8/2)

Gilroy
Library Hours (In Person & Online):
M-TH 10am-3pm
Closed Friday, Saturday and Sunday

Holidays
June 19 - Juneteenth
July 4 - Independence Day

 

 

Staff

Aleah Kropholler
Head Librarian
Phone: 408-848-4809
email: akropholler@gavilan.edu

Dana Young
Instruction/Technology Librarian
Phone: 408-848-4926
email:  dyoung@gavilan.edu

Tara Myers
Library Systems  Technician
Phone: 408-848-4810
email: tmyers@gavilan.edu

Amanda Long
Circulation
Phone: 408-848-4810
email: along@gavilan.edu

Cesar Martin
Circulation
Phone: 408-848-4810
email: cmartin@gavilan.edu

Meg Omainsky
Part-Time Librarian
phone: 408-848-4806
email: momainsky@gavilan.edu

Sandra Albini
Part-Time Librarian
Phone: 408-848-4806
email: salbini@gavilan.edu

Dolores Wiemers
Part-Time Librarian
Phone: 408-848-4806
email: dwiemers@gavilan.edu

Douglas Achterman
Part-Time Librarian
Phone: 408-848-4806
email: dachterman@gavilan.edu

Andrea Fajardo-Osejo
Part-Time Librarian
Phone: 408-848-4806
email: aosejo@gavilan.edu

Alma

Primo